BAJ nominated for UNESCO prize


Forty-six UNESCO Member States, including all 27 EUMS, joined in nominating the Belarusian Association of Journalists for the Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2022!

“The Prize is attributed for defending and/or promoting press freedom, especially in the face of danger,” the EU delegation to the OSCE and UNESCO said on Twitter.

The annual prize will be awarded in honor of murdered Colombian journalist Guillermo Cana Isas on May 3, World Press Freedom Day.

The prize is awarded on World Press Freedom Day, celebrated on May 3.

The Belarusian Association of Journalists was founded in 1995. Since then, it has brought together journalists of independent media in Belarus. After two office searches in 2021, it was liquidated by the decision of the Supreme Court.